TEAM COTTON'S PERFORMANCE TURBO BUICK ONLINE FORUMS  

Go Back   TEAM COTTON'S PERFORMANCE TURBO BUICK ONLINE FORUMS > Team Cotton's Performance > Ask Jack
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Ask Jack The best place to find me for any reason

Old 08-20-2010, 10:05 PM

Default 1984 swap with 86-87 parts??

Hey everybody, im new to the buick world but not new to the turbo world,
I have an 84 GN that i picked up for a great deal with low mileage 55000 to be exact. I want to do a swap from the 86-87 with the intercooler and the goodies.
My question is, the block should be the same right? As far as i know they are the same but i want to make sure before i start rippin it apart. I have a lot of plans for this car and i want to do it right so with the help from you turbo buick fans, i might be able to make this happen....i mean, it WILL happen!
Plans are,
meet Jack Cotton
more fuel, more boost , more power and alllllll the good stuff.
Any recommendations appreciated..
Old 08-21-2010, 09:37 PM
Long Roofs are sexy!

Some of the late 85s had the same block as the intercooled 86-87s, but none of the 84s did, unless it has been replaced. You can still use it though. The only thing needed to be done to the block is you have to drill for the oil return.
See if you can find someone selling a whole kit with all of the parts needed for a conversion. Get the conversion done, but check with Jack on upgrade parts. You don't want to spend money on a fuel pump or turbo, and then replace it with a new one.

Keep it shiny side up, but show them your dirty side once in a while.

11.3@123mph on 195/75/14" whitewalls. Yes, 195s!
11.2 on the big giant slicks. What's the point? Maybe I'll go back to the whitewalls. They are lighter and have less rolling resistance.
Old 08-25-2010, 09:19 PM

OK, That sounds easy enough, now the tough question, is there anybody on here getting rid of some of the parts i might need ie underhood wiring harness, ecm, etc etc.