TEAM COTTON'S PERFORMANCE TURBO BUICK ONLINE FORUMS

TEAM COTTON'S PERFORMANCE TURBO BUICK ONLINE FORUMS (http://community.cottonsperformance.viper05.citasystems.net/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://community.cottonsperformance.viper05.citasystems.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Benefit for Marissa (http://community.cottonsperformance.viper05.citasystems.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1593)

whitecobra98 02-13-2010 02:53 PM

Benefit for Marissa

Hello there,
My name is Chris. I am a Resource Officer in Chicopee, MA, at a middle school. At my school of almost 1000, I have a special little girl named Marissa. Marissa just turned 13 years old and has a severe seizure disorder. This disorder has affected many area of her life, as her seizures are severe and often come with no warning. It is because of this, that she rarely leaves the house, except to go to school. She fears the embarrassment of having a seizure in front of others. A benefit has been set up for March 19, 2010, from 6:30-midnight at the Castle of Knights in Chicopee, MA. The money raised will be used to purchase a seizure alert dog for Marissa. The cost of the dog is approximately $15,000. Tickets are only $20. While I realize that most of the TB community isn't in Western MA, I also know that there are those who have or know children who are sick. There is nothing worse than the feeling of helplessness when a child is sick, and you can do little to help. In this case, the dog is trained to detect changes in body chemistry before she has a seizure so steps can be taken to prevent one before it happens. I will list a website that has much more information on Marissa's story, but believe me when I tell you that this girl is very special to me, and is deserving of this dog so that she can attempt to have the independence every young girl dreams of having. For those who can't attend, but still would like to contribute, donations can be sent to Marissa Cox Benefit P.O. Box 207 Chicopee, MA 01021...